VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd (VTT), Finland

State-owned VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd is part of Finland's innovation system and operates under the mandate of the Ministry of Employment and the Economy. VTT is the largest internationally networked R&D centre for applied research in Northern Europe, harnessing multiple high technologies to develop scientific solutions for sustainable development and creating new business opportunities. In 2016 VTT had a staff of 2,400, net turnover of 188 M€, and other operational income of 81 M€.

Carl-von-Ossietzky University Oldenburg (UOL), Germany

The University of Oldenburg is a young university which since its founding in 1973 has contributed to the economic and cultural advancement of Germany's Northwest region. The Energy and Semiconductor Research Laboratory (EHF) constitutes one of the main focus points of research at the University of Oldenburg in the Institute of Physics. In the EHF Laboratory research is performed on fundamental physics of semiconductors and complex systems as well as in applied physics in the field of renewable energies.

University of Durham (UDUR), U.K.

UDUR, founded in 1832, is rated overall 78th in the 2018 QS World University rankings. UDUR has ca. 15,000 students (of whom 3,500 are postgraduates and 1,900 international students from over 120 countries) and employs over 3,000 staff. The UDUR Centre for Molecular and Nanoscale Electronics was established in 1987. The Centre consolidates and promotes interdisciplinary research across a number of academic departments within the University, in particular Chemistry, Physics and the School of Engineering. The Centre is a focal point for many international visitors and collaborations.



French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), France

CNRS is the largest governmental research organisation in France and the largest fundamental science agency in Europe. It employs 32 000 permanent employees and is closely associated to universities and higher-education institutions throughout France.

Two institutes of CNRS located in Lyon are involved in the EFINED project.  

The Centre for Energy and Thermal Sciences of Lyon (CETHIL) is a unit located at the National Institute of Applied Sciences (INSA) in Lyon. Research covers many fields in the area of thermal and energy sciences, from low temperatures to the ones of combustion and from the nanometre to the urban area length scale. The 'Micro and Nanoscale Heat Transfer' (MiNT) team is involved in EFINED.

The Institute of Light and Matter (ILM) is a joint research unit of CNRS and the University Claude-Bernard Lyon 1 (UCBL), located on the LyonTech-LaDoua campus. Research deals with light for shaping and characterising matter and with the fabrication of nanomaterials and the study of their optical, electrical, mechanical, thermal, and rheological properties. The MMCI team ('Modeling of Condensed Matter and Interfaces') is involved in EFINED.

IBM Research - Zurich (IBM Research GmbH) (IBM), Switzerland

IBM Research – Zurich is the European branch of the IBM Research Division. Scientific and industrial research activities are conducted in four departments with ca. 300 researchers. IBM Research – Zurich, established in 1956 has made major contributions to the advancement of knowledge in material science, nanoscience, and nanoscale physics stimulated by problems relevant to technology. Research in the Science & Technology department is concentrated in the fields of nanotechnology and future emerging devices, advanced chip packaging and cooling technology, and materials science.